Our Apologies: Clearing Confusion Around Closing Inactive Accounts

As part of our ongoing data maintenance this weekend, we closed a batch of inactive accounts that hadn’t been used to connect or billed for usage in at least 18 months.* This is a regularly scheduled process we use to reduce the amount of personal data being held in our databases (for security/privacy purposes) and to release unused usernames back into the pool for use by new, active customers (convenience).

Ordinarily, this event doesn’t trigger an email to the holder of the closed account, as we suppress the “account closed” email to reduce confusion among former users who have forgotten about their account or current users with multiple accounts. (Most of these account holders have previously received an email explaining that their abandoned account has become inactive and without an update it will be closed in 90 days.) Unfortunately, this time around we inadvertently sent a generic “account closed” email that lacked important details and created some confusion among users, for which we apologize profusely.

If you received an email from us this weekend, and you’re concerned that we closed an account you are actively using, we probably didn’t.  The greatest likelihood is that you have two or more open accounts, and one of them hit the 18-month inactivity threshold.

  1. If you can still log in to self-care or a Boingo hotspot with the account that you prefer to use, then your active account has not been closed.  We most likely deleted an account you forgot about.
  2. If you can’t log in to self-care with your favorite account, please contact our customer support team. Wait times may be a bit longer than usual due to an increase in inquiries.

We’ll continue to update this post with FAQs that surface through all of our customer support channels to help keep you apprised of any changes.

* The 18-month elapsed inactivity threshold was chosen after analyzing years of usage data that showed after that length of time, the reuse rate of the account was effectively zero. In fact, after that length of time, it was more likely that a user had already created at least one new account, and sometimes multiple new accounts (especially true for AsYouGo day pass accounts). This close/purge process occurs regularly, but the wrong email was sent this time.


This entry was posted in Boingo, Featured and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *